THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 28 Apr 2024, 02:39
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hey guys, optimistic newbie here...  (Read 2834 times)

Mr. Minipax

Hey guys, optimistic newbie here...
« on: 01 Oct 2006, 20:21 »

Howdy folks, new to the boards, love the comic, etc etc...

I've been considering getting into the comic/webcomic scene, and I have enough "bursts o' funny" in my notebook (I function on epiphanies) to get started...buuuut, I can't draw.

So, I've tried buying books and reading guides, but they have, so far, only confirmed my theory that being handfed art makes one's art appear the same as everyone else who bought those books/guides...so given my shaky art ability and rudimentaries I picked up from observation, I have turned to the ol' tabula rasa.

Which brings me to my point...do any of you have any tips for an aspiring cartoonist? Any mistakes you made while getting into it that you can warn us young'uns about? Errors you see many newbie cartoonists making, helpful tipzorz you came across yourself, particular things to avoid or take advantage of...

I am a tabula rasa myself, so any guidance would be much appreciated. For the cost of zero cups of coffee a day, you could mentor this budding Pencil Warrior.

Anyway, have at ye, and thanks in advance.

(And, uh, thanks for reading this. I ramble, so my posts can end up sort of "stream of consciousness". Case in point.)

Catfish_Man

• Pneumatic ratchet pants
    • Assorted Stuff
Re: Hey guys, optimistic newbie here...
« Reply #1 on: 01 Oct 2006, 22:53 »

Draw a lot. Force yourself to draw outside your comfort zone. Draw a lot more.

finaldelerium

« Reply #2 on: 01 Oct 2006, 23:06 »