THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 17 Apr 2024, 20:46
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How do I investigate a random disconnect issue?  (Read 2666 times)

Trollstormur

• Duck attack survivor
  • Death To America
    • http://www.goat.cx

So I've been disconnecting from the internet randomly for a couple months. Does anyone know how I can find out what's wrong with my computer/network/router?
also israel

Entilzah

Re: How do I investigate a random disconnect issue?
« Reply #1 on: 17 Jan 2007, 11:04 »

What OS are you using?

What are you doing on the computer when it happens?

Wireless or networking card being used?

EDIT: try this site for a network scanner, maybe it'll be able to help you

http://search.techrepublic.com.com/search/network+connection+and+monitor.html?&c=1&s=0&m=20&o=2&i=0&t=0
« Last Edit: 17 Jan 2007, 11:26 by Entilzah »

Melodic

• Only pretending to work
  • archive chin panties
« Reply #2 on: 17 Jan 2007, 11:27 »

Doubtful that this is a network issue, although it could definitely be related to a faulty router. I think the most important question is, who is your ISP?
And if you played too hard it'd flop out and dangle around by the wire and that is just super ugly

Entilzah

« Reply #3 on: 17 Jan 2007, 11:30 »

even with a shitty ISP you should still be able to maintain a low connectivity rate...

I say it's either the OS or the network...though there is a possibility that it's the network card/software itself

8ilbo

« Reply #4 on: 17 Jan 2007, 14:10 »

Reinstall drivers, always a good starter. If you've made any hardware changes recently, reverse them and see if it goes away. Also, ISPs can just drop your connection because they suck - worth ringing them up and giving them an earful (even if it doesn't acheive anything, its fun  :lol:)

Will

• Bling blang blong blung
  • Creeeeeeeepy bear HEARTS YOU!!!