THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 28 Apr 2024, 07:46
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I love my GIMP  (Read 4716 times)

nuisance

I love my GIMP
« on: 07 Oct 2006, 23:31 »

Hey, so I've been larking about with GIMP for a few years now, manipulating photos, and generally find it absolutely awesome.  Occasionally it goes splat and makes me angry, but for the most part it's just so rammed with features and completely free that I can't complain about it.

Does anyone else use GIMP?  What do you think of it?

Also, what are the benefits of paying for an app like Photoshop instead of this?  (Let's assume I don't want an illegal crack of it for whatever reason)

Napoleon the Clown

• Emoticontraindication
  • Worriesome
Re: I love my GIMP
« Reply #1 on: 08 Oct 2006, 00:11 »

I use GIMP.  I'm quite happy with it.  From what I hear, PhotoShop and PaintShop are somewhat easier to use and have more tools, but when you take into account the fact that both cost a few hundred bucks (I think, if I'm wrong, correct me), it more or less balances out.
Scaring the shit outta Hannelore since...  God knows when. (T-shirt reference FTW)

SensoryOssuary

« Reply #2 on: 08 Oct 2006, 09:49 »

It's good software, but I'd much rather "buy" Photoshop.

brion

« Reply #3 on: 08 Oct 2006, 19:59 »

It all depends on what you need, and what you're used to. Unless you're doing pre-press work and need to produce multi-layered Photoshop files for your job, you probably don't *need* Photoshop. I've never bothered to cross-upgrade my old Photoshop 5.5 for Windows at home since I moved to Macs three years ago; Gimp does what I need just fine (a little photo touch-up, rearranging screen shots, converting and tweaking graphics for the web).