THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 28 Apr 2024, 18:16
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The politics of the indie rock scene  (Read 10730 times)

Jackie Blue

• BANNED
  • Born in a Nalgene bottle
  • oh hi
The politics of the indie rock scene
« on: 21 Feb 2007, 11:26 »

I've been more or less in the indie rock scene in the same town for about 9 years now.  It's not the only scene I have friends in, but it is the one where I attend the most social gatherings and since I am an indie rock musician by default I have to spend a lot of effort not stepping too far out of the scene boundaries for established guidelines because then people you don't even know start deciding not to come to your shows because of something somebody said at some party sometime, you know?

Right, so the question here, since I've been limited to this one city's scene for so long, what's it like in other places?  The scene party line here seems to basically be "There is no scene.  And you're not in it, anyway."  It's a kind of wearying combination of total cliqueishness combined with the absolute, resolute denial of being cliqueish.
Man, this thread really makes me want to suck some cock.

ALoveSupreme

• Beyoncé
    • http://www.facebook.com/heyheyrabbit
Re: The politics of the indie rock scene
« Reply #1 on: 21 Feb 2007, 12:21 »

That first paragraph confuses me... are you saying you can't really go to shows that are of a different "scene" for fear of being shunned?  If that's the case, that seems pretty weak.  I always just took "indie" rock in the most idealistic way possible, being the all inclusive, "as long as you don't go to shows at the local ampitheater (and why would you want to anyways), and you're supporting independant musicianship, you're good".