THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 29 Apr 2024, 07:08
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What would QC do?  (Read 8671 times)

Patrick

• where did it cost?
  • Awakened
  • Used to be a cool kid
    • Troubador! bandcamp page
What would QC do?
« on: 10 Apr 2007, 09:56 »

Right, so gear whores of QC, I will be working this summer and am looking into buying another guitar, this time a lot less shitty than the ones I've been using for the past 3 years. I had previously been looking at this:

It's the '62 reissue Fender Jaguar, which runs at around $1400 US. But I have been lusting after this for quite some time:

The Epiphone G-1275, which is less expensive (by about $500) and arguably more versatile in a lot of respects, less so in others. And alongside it I'd order a standard Fender Stratocaster or a Gibson Faded SG and come out at about the same price anyway.

I'd like to know your ideas based on the following main points:
- sheer sexiness of the guitar
- your opinions of each instrument's versatility
- sound (if you've played either of them)
- what YOU would do if the decision were yours to make

Okay GO!
My long-dead band Troubador! licks your gentlemen's legumes on the cheap

Spinless

Re: What would QC do?
« Reply #1 on: 10 Apr 2007, 10:25 »

I'd get any old halfway decent telecaster and never need another guitar again?

Storm Rider

• Older than Moses
  • Twelve stories high, made of radiation
« Reply #2 on: 10 Apr 2007, 11:29 »

Telecasters are weak. Get something with humbuckers.
[22:06] Shane: We only had sex once
[22:06] Shane: and she was wicked just...lay there

Johnny C

• Mentat
  • i wanna be yr slide dog
    • I AM A WHORE FOR MY OWN MUSIC
« Reply #3 on: 10 Apr 2007, 11:47 »

I'd go with the Jag. From what I understand it's a versatile-sounding instrument and is a lot more likely to respond to whatever you coax it with.