THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 28 Apr 2024, 15:33
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Fun And Games In Iraq! Critiques please...  (Read 6685 times)

maxcavsm

Fun And Games In Iraq! Critiques please...
« on: 22 Apr 2007, 20:20 »

Okay, here's the backstory...

Forum,

Here's the situation.

I would go into all the painful backstory and exposition required to get me to this point, but I'm going to get right to it, plain and simple.

I had an epiphany at work yesterday that made me realize that I need an outlet for everything that happened to me in Iraq, and eight hours of video games a day isn't doing the trick any more. I want to DRAW about my experiences over there.

I know, weird.

I have no art background. I have no art equipment other that a three ring binder and a mechanical pencil I grabbed from upstairs. I could just draw a bunch of stick figures and call it a day, but I don't think that would help for a minute. I can see panels of well drawn art/manga in my head, and seeing artists from successful webcomics makes me long all the more to make this sudden pipe dream a reality. I've got a hundred different ideas for different concepts. It's the trick of getting them onto paper that has me a little stumped.

Okay, I wrote that two months ago to the day. It's been posted on a few major webcomic forums. Since then, I've found this site, and I've come to love the QC gang.  I've been posting my daily work on the sites, looking for criticism, asspats and the like. So I figured I'd start doing the same here and see what kind of feedback I get!

Here's the backlog of posts over at CAD:  http://www.cad-forums.com/showthread.php?t=70497

For those too lazy to check the link; here's what it look like two months ago:

And here's two months later: