THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 19 Apr 2024, 05:06
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Blurry vs. Flash  (Read 6749 times)

Peter Harris

Blurry vs. Flash
« on: 05 Mar 2007, 23:52 »

Anyone know how to use a normal digital camera (namely, a Canon PowerShot A530) and take non-blurry pictures without the flash?  When I take outside shots with the flash on auto, it works fine without flashing.  But inside, or whenever it wants to flash, if I turn off the flash it lengthens the exposure time and unless my hands are super still (not always an option in my comic), the picture comes out slightly "smudged."

Anyone have any ideas how to remedy this?

J_Saunders

Re: Blurry vs. Flash
« Reply #1 on: 06 Mar 2007, 00:49 »

I have no experience with cannon cameras, but a quick google search may have turned up your answer. Hope this helps!

http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=1938

Peter Harris

« Reply #2 on: 06 Mar 2007, 09:59 »

Alas, I think the TV setting it's asking for is a feature on a higher model of the PowerShot.  Le sigh.

Thanks anyway.

Lines

• Awakened
« Reply #3 on: 06 Mar 2007, 10:33 »

My camera is a Nikon and it does that too. It's fine in brighter light, but if I'm using it with low quality lighting, if I don't use a tri-pod, it's probably going to be blurry. So it's either the lighting bothering your camera or your camera is just picky, like mine. I have no idea how to help you fix this other than suggesting a tri-pod if you can use one for whatever you're taking or setting it on something stationary.
:grumpypuss: :grumpypuss: :grumpypuss:

Mnementh

« Reply #4 on: 06 Mar 2007, 11:18 »

Tripod or better lighting.

No matter how still your hands are, you're not going to take a non-blurry picture if the exposure time is greater than 1/30th of a second.

J_Saunders

« Reply #5 on: 06 Mar 2007, 22:07 »