THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 20 Apr 2024, 04:02
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down

Author Topic: suggest me some graphic novels.  (Read 41170 times)

humanoftheyear

• Not quite a lurker
    • dur
suggest me some graphic novels.
« on: 13 Aug 2007, 17:47 »

this past year i've become very enamored with graphic novels. as an aspiring artist myself, i've found a new level of inspiration from reading them.
as with most things in life that i enjoy, i want more, more, more. i'd really appreciate some suggestions for great graphic novels you guys have read. especially graphic novels that are memoirs, those are my absolute favorites.

my favorites so far have been:
fun home by alison bechdel
pyongyang by guy delisle
persepolis by marjane satrapi
maus by art spiegelman
blankets by craig thompson

two i have yet to read but received as gifts:
autobiographix - dark horse
safe area gorazde - joe sacco

i've read some frank miller but not too much. mainly his works that have been adapted to film. i'm also a fan of will eisner, but i haven't really gone beyone reading his version of moby dick.

i'm also curios as to what people think of graphic novels as far as literature goes. i've had a few professors in uni teach them in class, and some teachers just find the idea of a book with pictures too absurd for a college level (which i find ridiculous myself). what do ya'll think? are you less likely to take comics/graphic novels less seriously than classics that are taught to you in school?

i'm curious (:
A guilty conscience needs to confess. A work of art is a confession.
Albert Camus

mberan42

• Bling blang blong blung
  • Fry... You're my friend...
Re: suggest me some graphic novels.
« Reply #1 on: 13 Aug 2007, 20:26 »

My two favourites:

The Walking Dead by Kirkman & Moore (et. al.)
Y: The Last Man by Vaughan, Guerra & Marzan (et. al.)