THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 24 Apr 2024, 18:04
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Good Eats  (Read 26306 times)

thehollow

• Pneumatic ratchet pants
Good Eats
« on: 08 Jan 2008, 00:07 »

I searched for a thread on this and didn't find one, so here goes. Alton Brown is a god amongst mortals, and is easily my favorite celebrity chef/food network person. As a poor college student I can't to afford the DVDs, but I've got all the episodes on my computer, although I did buy one of his books. Also due to my aforementioned impoverished state, I have been unable to try out as many of his recipes as I would like to, but the ones I have tried have worked out really well. I had especially good results with the beef jerky, which was some of the best jerky I've ever had.

Anyone else a fan of the show? If so, share your experiences with recipes of his that you've made yourself!

Also, this guy has added the first 8 seasons or so on youtube.
« Last Edit: 08 Jan 2008, 00:14 by thehollow »

Ballard

• Older than Moses
  • This is my happening and it freaks me out!
Re: Good Eats
« Reply #1 on: 08 Jan 2008, 00:44 »

If high school chemistry teachers taught like Alton Brown, I might have passed that class the first time around.

I generally appreciate what he does. He's by no means an amazing chef, but he's carved out a niche for himself and his genuine, home-grown approach to cooking makes him unique amongst a celebrity line-up of glamorized knife-wielding demi-gods. I'm more prone to try and recreate a dish by his instructions than by anyone else's, simply because he eliminates a lot of the useless, outdated methods that the dinosaurs of the culinary world swear by. He makes good food in the most efficient way possible and he's interesting to listen to.

In terms of television quality, this is accomplishing quite a lot.