THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 19 Apr 2024, 16:18
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HIV Denial Ad  (Read 7406 times)

tel

HIV Denial Ad
« on: 17 Feb 2008, 23:03 »

I don't know if Mr. Jacques has actually seen the ad, or, even worse, if he approves of it, but what the hell is the deal with the banner for the HIV denial movie?

I'm a scientist, and I'm a fairly open minded guy, but there are some topics, some sides to arguments, that by even being brought up in the first place can do irreparable damage to the public debate on important issues. When there are ministers of health in some governments of Africa that denounce the use of antiretrovirals and promote the use of home remedies to treat this virulent epidemic, how can we indulge the outliers, the one-in-a-thousands, who promulgate the view that there is no link between HIV and AIDS?

I mean, the world doesn't turn on the content of  a webcomic, nor does it revolve around the beliefs of its author, but this kind of an attempt to teach ignorance like it's a new sort of knowledge just makes me angry, and, one way or another, I'd like to see Mr. Jacques acknowledge the issue. This is not something a person can be neutral about.

I'm a guest on this site, we all are, and if the author supports the deniers he's certainly entitled to express that. But he needs either to own that viewpoint or to remove that ad. To do less would be sheer cowardice.
« Last Edit: 17 Feb 2008, 23:21 by tel »

fatbottomedgirl

Re: HIV Denial Ad
« Reply #1 on: 17 Feb 2008, 23:47 »