THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 23 Apr 2024, 09:59
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Loudness Wars  (Read 2122 times)

David_Dovey

• Nearly grown up
  • j'accuse!
Loudness Wars
« on: 28 Mar 2008, 01:12 »

Because of talk in This thread.

Quote from: Caspian
Pretty much. Worth noting (and perhaps this could be another thread) that the 'loudness wars' aren't entirely these dudes fault, mastering engineers also get a fair bit of pressure from Label Execs and band members and what not.

Oh yeah absolutely. I'm studying to become a recording engineering and I was thinking about trying to do further study to end up in a mastering studio, because I'd be totally the best and so tasteful and would never master all the dynamics out of albums blah blah blah, but after about a minute's worth of pursuing that train of thought I figured out that is what all the current mastering engineers probably thought when they got into the field themselves. I'm sure most mastering engineers with a modicum of taste or sense wouldn't agree with loudness-based mastering any more than any other music appreciator, especially considering those engineers who do go into mastering have to have pretty well-tuned ears (even moreso than the average engineer) as a requirement of the job.

Relevant articles:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loudness_wars
http://www.stylusmagazine.com/articles/weekly_article/imperfect-sound-forever.htm
It's a roasted cocoa bean, commonly found in vaginas.

Caspian

• The Tickler
Re: Loudness Wars
« Reply #1 on: 28 Mar 2008, 01:21 »

Dave: don't you live in perth as well? Are you studying at SAE, perchance? I just finished a degree there ^______^