THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 19 Apr 2024, 22:37
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Album Art and Packaging  (Read 11625 times)

orangepeas

• Obscure cultural reference
Album Art and Packaging
« on: 27 Apr 2008, 18:55 »

I did a search for this topic and came across nothing. As a graphic design student, I am always looking at unique and inventive ways of packaging and neat album art(covers). What albums do you grab your attention? What albums make you go "wow how did they think of that?"
To get us started of...I'll post some of mine favorites. In some cases, I'm solely posting the album because of the art not the music itself.

Endtroducing..... -DJ Shadow

So simple yet so cleaver. If you look at the album closely you will notice many interesting things, such as a cat.

Sigur Ros' albums has some of the best packaging and album art I have come across, but you probably knew that they were going to get mention at some point in this thread.

Tool has released many albums with fantastic album art and packing. Aenima and Undertow are my favorites. Did you know Tool put out an alternative version of Undertow with just a bar code and a note from the band? I really like the work of Alex Grey, who has provided the artwork for several Tool albums. Adam Jones, their guitarist is also a great artist.

The album's Canon,Evolve Reprieve by Ani Difranco. Evolve won a grammy for Best Record Package at the 2004 Grammys. I really like the packaging and album art for the last few albums and I'm really glad that she is incorporating her art into the albums. Maybe I'm just biased because I simply adore her. hehe

Amnesiac (Special Limited Edition)...wow, just wow.