THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 29 Mar 2024, 04:05
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Trojan Virus - help  (Read 3508 times)

Bowers

• Balloon animal serial killer
  • Breadsticks
Trojan Virus - help
« on: 02 May 2010, 09:13 »

So, I've managed to pick up a trojan virus somehow. I've downloaded a bunch of anti virus programmes, none of which seems to work.
It's gotten to the point  now where my PC wont let me even run task manager or itunes. I've got eleven days worth of music, some of which has been backed up but not all (I got lazy)
As a poor student I was hoping you guys would be able to help me get rid of this thing. Infected files include wauclt.exe, mcumgr.exe and vssvs.exe

Cheers for all your help

bicostp

• Beyoncé
Re: Trojan Virus - help
« Reply #1 on: 02 May 2010, 10:27 »

Sounds like you have a phony antivirus running. Does it pop up a window for something like "Vista Total Security 2010"? (If it does, a screenshot would be helpful.) Are there any new folders in the Start menu for programs you don't remember installing? Are you running Windows XP, Vista, or Win7?

Download HijackThis, rename the .exe to "hikackthis.com", and post the log here.

http://free.antivirus.com/hijackthis/

Those filenames belong to legitimate programs, provided they're in the directories they should be in.

wuauclt.exe = Windows Update C:\windows\system32
vssvs.exe = Windows Volume Shadow Copy C:\windows\system32
mcumgr.exe = McAffe Update Manager

If the "antivirus" program that's running is telling you those files in those directories are infected, and is asking you to pay $100 or so to "fix" them, then it's fake.
« Last Edit: 02 May 2010, 10:33 by bicostp »

Bowers

• Breadsticks
« Reply #2 on: 02 May 2010, 10:39 »

Thats pretty much exactly whats happened, cheers for your help.
I'll post the log when I get back from work,
thanks

Dimmukane