Jeph Jacques's comics discussion forums

  • 25 Jan 2022, 00:43
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???  (Read 3320 times)

Arkvoodle

  • Not quite a lurker
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Hail the Lord of the Sacred Crotch!

 So, over the Thanksgiving weekend I found a 20gig PS3 at one of the local used-game retailers. It was fairly cheap so I decided "what the hell" and picked it up.

Today was the first chance I had to actually set it up. Took everything out, put the plug into an empty socket, put in the same three-color cord setup I've been using on game systems for the last eleven years, power it up and what happens?


Absolutely nothing.


As far as I can tell the system powers up fine but nothings' being displayed on the TV screen.

AM I missing a step or could there be something wrong with this system???
Logged
"It has been written in the book of Divine Fabrications that, the Great God of the Sacred Crotch Arkvoodle cannot be made or unmade. Arkvoodle is, will, and forever shall be! And for once they got it right."

Emaline

  • Lovecraftian nightmare
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,826
  • Drink, Drank, DRUNK
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #1 on: 30 Nov 2008, 18:28 »

It might be set up for an HD tv, which sucks for you because to my memory, with the PS3, you have to go through the system to to get it set up for a regular tv. You can't just flip a switch.

The place should have tested it out before they took the system in. Take it back and explain to them the problem. They should be able to fix it, especially if it is just something about setting it up.
Logged
little bitty bird, with the flaxen hair, can i help you with the weight of the cross you bear?

Arkvoodle

  • Not quite a lurker
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Hail the Lord of the Sacred Crotch!
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #2 on: 01 Dec 2008, 05:27 »

Tried the setup trick. Resulting display looked like THIS:


Logged
"It has been written in the book of Divine Fabrications that, the Great God of the Sacred Crotch Arkvoodle cannot be made or unmade. Arkvoodle is, will, and forever shall be! And for once they got it right."

Liz

Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #3 on: 01 Dec 2008, 07:46 »

The PS3 challenges your gaming skills not only through tough gameplay but also through a partially obscured screen.

If you manage to win they send you prizes.
Logged
Quote from: John
Liz is touching me.
Quote from: Bryan
Fuck you, I want him so bad.

lprkn

  • Obscure cultural reference
  • **
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 149
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #4 on: 01 Dec 2008, 09:24 »

Did you try resetting it? When you turn it on, hold down the on the power button area until it beeps. I don't know if thi swill help, but it worked for me, although I have a digital tv.
Logged

dennis

  • Asleep in the boner patch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 784
  • A sockful of quarters makes the medicine go down.
    • Lies! Truth!
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #5 on: 01 Dec 2008, 11:49 »

So, over the Thanksgiving weekend I found a 20gig PS3 at one of the local used-game retailers. It was fairly cheap so I decided "what the hell" and picked it up.

Today was the first chance I had to actually set it up. Took everything out, put the plug into an empty socket, put in the same three-color cord setup I've been using on game systems for the last eleven years, power it up and what happens?


Absolutely nothing.


As far as I can tell the system powers up fine but nothings' being displayed on the TV screen.

AM I missing a step or could there be something wrong with this system???

It looks like you're trying to connect component video to composite inputs.

Tell us what the outputs are labeled, and what inputs you've got it hooked into.
Logged

Arkvoodle

  • Not quite a lurker
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 13
  • Hail the Lord of the Sacred Crotch!
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #6 on: 01 Dec 2008, 13:23 »

I am attempting to use the standard A/V input cables that I have used on virtually every console I have ever owned.


Using the reset technique I was apparently able to start up the system and create a profile for myself but to date I have not been able to play any sort of game or movie for more than five seconds without the display freezing or scrambling (though sound remains).
Logged
"It has been written in the book of Divine Fabrications that, the Great God of the Sacred Crotch Arkvoodle cannot be made or unmade. Arkvoodle is, will, and forever shall be! And for once they got it right."

dennis

  • Asleep in the boner patch
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 784
  • A sockful of quarters makes the medicine go down.
    • Lies! Truth!
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #7 on: 01 Dec 2008, 13:30 »

I think it's toast.
Logged

Spluff

  • William Gibson's Babydaddy
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,454
  • it is time to party
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #8 on: 01 Dec 2008, 18:28 »

That's what a PS3 is supposed to look like, dude. Didn't you hear? Blue squares in the new bloom and anti-alias.

Man, what you talkin' bout? Everybody knows you don't get anti-aliasing on any consoles.
Logged
[16:27] Ozy:  has joined the room
[16:27] Quietus: porn necklace!
[16:27] Quietus: Shove it up yer vag!
[16:27] Ozy: has left the room

Trollstormur

  • Duck attack survivor
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,700
  • Death To America
    • http://www.goat.cx
Re: Anyone know anything about how to set up a PS3???
« Reply #9 on: 02 Dec 2008, 00:21 »

   i guess now you know why it was so cheap
   /
 :-D
Logged
also israel
Pages: [1]   Go Up