THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 24 Apr 2024, 11:06
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I make some dark, semi-industrial rock (first album)  (Read 2568 times)

iglidante

• Plantmonster
  • Only common sense, I know, but I don't understand.
    • Flying Man and Friends

So, I'm a guitarist / singer / producer. I released my first album, "The Solomon Project," last year. It's entirely self-made, out of my apartment - but I promise it sounds good. I put some serious time into it.

The sound is dense, with layers of guitars and (at times) synths. Big, pounding drums. My best description of the vocals would be "sometimes like Ric Ocasek, sometimes more like Marilyn Manson."

Anyway, if you're willing to take a second, I've got a bunch of tracks from the album up at www.myspace.com/ianmarquis. "Candy" has been the favorite so far, but the sound varies quite a bit from track to track - so if you don't like that one song, don't assume they're all like it, because they aren't.

I'd love to hear what you all think.
Gimme some time - I'm gonna make you sing.

iglidante

• Plantmonster
    • Flying Man and Friends
Re: I make some dark, semi-industrial rock (first album)
« Reply #1 on: 27 Jan 2010, 09:07 »

I should add that I'm kind of a big fan of 80s production, and some of that has worked its way into my music. But part of that is also an issue of utility: as a solo artist, I have to program all the parts I can't actually play, so the drums are sampled. And my samples are huge. That is, epic. Some people have asked if that was an attempt at riding the "80s revival train," and it isn't. I just like that style of production.

rynne

• Asleep in the boner patch
  • Hey, nice marmot!
« Reply #2 on: 29 Jan 2010, 12:48 »