THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 24 Apr 2024, 18:32
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Office Work & Job Interview advice  (Read 2954 times)

blanktom

• FIGHT YOU
  • Liev Schreiber scares me
    • myspace!
Office Work & Job Interview advice
« on: 05 Oct 2010, 09:53 »

Not sure if this merits a new thread but here goes!

I recently quit my job and after a couple of weeks unemployed, I've landed myself an interview at a marketing agency right in the centre of the city that I live in, about a 15 minute walk from my house. I'm pretty confident, but I've never worked in a office before, all my jobs have been in retail or catering, but the lady sounded really enthusiastic on the phone, and I'm thinking the fact they called me about an interview less than an hour after I emailed them my CV is probably a good scene.

So basically I'm asking for advice on how to go about this interview. Also, if (fingers crossed) I'm successful, are there any pointers on the whole 'office' experience?
Is that you John Wayne? Is this me?

Lunchbox

• Lovecraftian nightmare
  • Resident Beard Advisor
    • Tiger Darling
Re: Office Work & Job Interview advice
« Reply #1 on: 05 Oct 2010, 16:56 »

Go you!
I was in much the same situation when I was interviewed for the job I have at the moment - I'd never really worked in an office but wheedled my way into the position by listing my waitressing skills and how relevant they were to office work - work quickly to reach deadlines, communication, delegating, teamwork, blah blah.
Dress up as best you can for the interview. Even if they're a casual work environment they'll appreciate seeing you at your best. This means button-down shirt, slacks, and leather shoes. Tidy your hair as much as possible, even if you think you look dumb.
Also, if they sound eager on the phone, they probably are actually eager.