THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 27 Apr 2024, 13:04
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Jeph, could I get some help from you in regards to artwork?  (Read 3527 times)

deepbluevibes

I'm not a TOTAL beginner at artwork, but i'm far from decent.

My artwork would be a bit less "attractive" than the very first comic you made, if you want a comparision.

anyways, i'm a film major, I edit films and all that, etc. but lately i've realized that while that's something i'm good at, for three years now i've been writing this story of mine and film just wouldn't be able to do it.

(mostly due to needing billions of dollars for special effects, not to mention the story is longer than lord of the rings)

The thing is, I want to try making a webcomic and actually doing this for real somewhat over the summer.

So my questions are as follows to you;

1) What did you do to improve your artwork? I know you obviously drew and practiced a lot, but did you take any classes, have any training methods, etc.? Your artwork has really progressed a lot in such a short time, and obviously some of it's talent, but i'm guessing there was SOMETHING else there along with the hard work :P

2) What kind of supplies do you suggest using? I've tried to use blue pencils (the ones that don't show up when you scan), but i've also heard that they're bad to use. What do you suggest for pencils, inks, paper? I'd be doing artwork at first that isn't that detailed but would move on later to more detailed things, obviously.

3) What do you suggest for an "after" program for effects/toners? most of the comic will be in B&W, so I was just wondering if you knew of any programs that would work well with scanned pictures. I haven't been able to find *anything*, so this would really be appreciated :)