THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 19 Mar 2024, 03:41
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Run run run run ruuuun, take your dragon too (the thread for runners)  (Read 3471 times)

thedevilissix

• Furry furrier

Always good to title topics with misheard lyrics  :clairedoge:

This here is for anyone who is either working up to running (me, doing Couch 2 5k at'minute!), starting out with runs proper or for those of you who go for races and half marathons (even...marathons?) on the regular.
What do you enjoy most about it (if 'enjoy' may be a slightly masochistic term considering how much your calves hurt!), what are your goals with it at the moment, what sort of tracks you prefer to run with, training tips etc.
I'm very new to it all but get a lot of personal reward out of doing it and wanted to see if any likeminded folk were out there.

nobo

• Bling blang blong blung

I don't like running, but since I hurt my back in the gym last November I'm starting to pick it up as continuing to weight lift isn't possible at the moment until I figure out a new routine. I have signed up for the Warrior Dash in August (5k mud run) and will also sign up for the Spartan Race in mid August (8 mile run + obstacles). I've done both of these before and I am looking forward to them a lot.

Now, to answer your questions

Enjoy -
Snack binges are more guilt free when there has been a recent run.

Goals -
I want that a pack dammit. And a sub 20 minute 5k.

Tracks -
I used to listen to Zombies, Run! Its a fitness app/ebook/game for your phone that feeds you bits of story while you're out running and collecting shit for your post zombie apocalypse community. I haven't played with it in a while, now I opt for switching between MGK and Dropkick Murphy channels on spotify.

Tips -