Jeph Jacques's comics discussion forums

• 06 Apr 2020, 15:08
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: my pseudo-indie-rock list  (Read 4824 times)

ethank

my pseudo-indie-rock list
« on: 30 Dec 2004, 13:54 »

In no particular order:

REM - Beat a Drum / All I Want
This is THE song for my wife and I. Also I got to hear the band perform it with only myself, my family and REMs manager in the room. That was a treat. Actually loads of other REM songs come close, but this has special meaning. "Halfway from coal, halfway to diamond."

Decemberists - Here I Dreamt I was an Architect
Has among my favorite lines from any song in it: "I recall in spring the perfume that the air would bring from the indolent town" Its the perfect bittersweet song with that element of hope at the end.

Talking Heads - This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody)
I especially like the Stop Making Sense rendition of it. Its such a sweet song and embodies that nostalgia has for "home" as well as the sadness when one realizes that the concept of home is fleeting.

Gomez - Sweet Virginia
Gomez has so many excellent songs, but this one perfectly captures the epic feeling of having three vocalists in a band. It has a nice wistful quality and absolutely rocks live.

Eels - Last Stop, This Town
The narrative turning point for Electroshock Blues finds the character (E) coming to grips with loss, and trying to move past it. Its a song about acceptance of the end, while a desire for a new beginning. The video (by Hammer and Tongs) is absolutely amazing as well.

Sigur Ros - Olsen Olsen
A completely epic and moving song, with no discernable or sensible lyrics. It yearns to be a music video. The song carries the feeling of death and rebirth. Again, an amazing and awe inspiring song live.

Grant Lee Buffalo - Happiness