THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 28 Mar 2024, 17:48
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 3 4 [5]   Go Down

Author Topic: WCDT strips 4301-4305 (6th July to 10 July 2020)  (Read 27391 times)

cesium133

• Preventing third impact
  • Has a fucked-up browser history
    • Cesium Comics
Re: WCDT strips 4301-4305 (6th July to 10 July 2020)
« Reply #200 on: 30 Jul 2020, 06:44 »

Back when I was in grad school, I was given a large collection of... less than legally-obtained... physics textbooks in DjVu format. It was a useful format, but even back then it was hard to find good software for that format.
I seem to remember that DjVu was supported, on Linux at least, 10-ish years ago, but don't quote me on that.

EDIT: Tova, the definition of .pdf is Postscript with whatever bullshit Adobe decides to add? Has that changed?
I’m an experimental physicist, not a theoretical physicist. I run Windows.
The nerdy comic I update sometimes: Cesium Comics

Unofficial character tag thingy for QC

hedgie

• Methuselah's mentor
  • No Pasarán!
« Reply #201 on: 30 Jul 2020, 08:10 »

My condolences.
"The highest treason in the USA is to say Americans are not loved, no matter where they are, no matter what they are doing there." -- Vonnegut

sitnspin

• Born in a Nalgene bottle
  • Amoral lust machine
« Reply #202 on: 30 Jul 2020, 11:03 »

if i was still on speaking terms with my ex, an astrophysicist, i would ask her what she uses, for comparison.
I'm a simple girl, all I want from life is to drink the blood of my enemies from their bleached hollowed skulls.
@syleegrrl

cesium133

• Preventing third impact
  • Has a fucked-up browser history
    • Cesium Comics
« Reply #203 on: 30 Jul 2020, 11:10 »

Most of the astrophysicists I've met (and seen the computers of) used Macs, and the rest used Linux.
The nerdy comic I update sometimes: Cesium Comics

Unofficial character tag thingy for QC