THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 29 Apr 2024, 00:12
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: I guess I'm a composer now  (Read 6687 times)

Switchblade

• 1-800-SCABIES
  • WTF was I thinking when I picked this name?
I guess I'm a composer now
« on: 20 Apr 2005, 16:54 »

today, I put the finishing touches on an original composition, saved the MIDI version to CD, and brought it home. It's called "Binary."

it's a minimalist composition for two pianos, two marimbas, a string section, two wood blocks and a clarinet, and I am intensely proud of it. So proud, that I want to swagger around and shout the news to the world through a megaphone, wearing naught but my posing pants.

I'd kinda like to post it somewhere, but my grasp of copyright law is a little shakey, so I probably won't.
ROCK MORE, ROLL MORE, LURK MOAR

blindsuperhero

« Reply #1 on: 20 Apr 2005, 16:58 »

Copyright in what sense? You don't want people ripping you off or you don't want people knowing you ripped them off?

Switchblade

• 1-800-SCABIES
« Reply #2 on: 20 Apr 2005, 17:04 »

don't want to be ripped off.

If I'm honest, the works borrows quite heavily from both Steve Reich and Phillip glass, except being based around quite a melodic pentatonic motif, so it's original enough to pass for mine.

24_hour_revenge_therapy

« Reply #3 on: 20 Apr 2005, 18:28 »

hey, congratulations.  i know i feel the same way every time i finish a short story.  can't imagine how i'll feel if i ever get around to writing a novel.  

and, i would be careful, at least until you get a copywrite.  the music industry is replete with stories of ripped off compositions and stolen royalties.

FruitKat

• Furry furrier
« Reply #4 on: 20 Apr 2005, 18:31 »

Yay for swaggering and shouting!
Good on youuuuu!
I really wanna start composing... I really should... Definitely should... I will... Maybe...

GO YOU!

Johnny C