THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 19 Apr 2024, 19:05
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ubuntu Media  (Read 4974 times)

catflea

Ubuntu Media
« on: 08 Nov 2005, 04:27 »

Hope you guys might be able to help me here!

Whenever I try to open any form of media in Ubuntu (MP3, mov, wmv, mpg) all I ever get is "there are no decoders available to handle the stream"

how can I sort this out   (bear in mind I am an utter linux nooB)

SpacemanSpiff

Ubuntu Media
« Reply #1 on: 08 Nov 2005, 06:51 »

Please bear in mind that I tried using Ubuntu and hated it.

But apparently, Ubuntu does not come with with the codecs necessary to decode these files. That might be because of license reasons, SuSE does that too.
What you want to do is this: Add a repository that has non-GPL packages as well.
I think Ubuntu already has those in packages-config utility, if I recall correctly, you just have to add them. If this isn't the case, check /etc/apt/sources.list (sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list). There should be some repositories there that have a # in front. Remove that, it should work then. But first ....

Maybe those repositories are also added and the necessary programs just weren't installed, you can check that by trying the installation first.

This website tells you how to do it, which saves me the trouble of typing it all. Check: Installing Multimedia codecs, installing DVD playback, installing XMMS (MP3 player) and installing MPlayer (video player). You can also try Xine (another video player), but personally, I prefer MPlayer.

catflea

Ubuntu Media
« Reply #2 on: 08 Nov 2005, 09:16 »

Worked a Treat,  Thanks for the Help

decklin

Ubuntu Media
« Reply #3 on: 08 Nov 2005, 09:29 »

In case you're curious as to why, here's the canonical (ha ha!) page on it:

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RestrictedFormats