THESE FORUMS NOW CLOSED (read only)

• 29 Apr 2024, 01:01
  • Welcome, Guest
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: American Country Music, I feel very strange  (Read 8181 times)

Stwonga

American Country Music, I feel very strange
« on: 16 Aug 2007, 12:48 »

Well, an old friend here in Brasil gave me a stack of records a few months ago, turns out he had most of Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, a stack of singles from Juice Newton all the way to the Dixie Chicks.

So seeing as how I am new to this genre, can any of you recommend something?

Caiphana

• Curry sauce
  • WHOOSH
    • dA
Re: American Country Music, I feel very strange
« Reply #1 on: 16 Aug 2007, 13:19 »

My biggest recommendation is to stick with the old country music. It's more fun, for one, and you get a better feel for how the genre was meant to be: namely, really good stories. You need to add Jimmie Rodgers to your list, that's for sure.
..so long as the word "cookie" is in your country's vocabulary, it's an okay place to be.

Those who forget the past may be doomed to repeat it, but those who refuse to learn from the past and move on are fucking idiots.

Thrillho

• Global Moderator
  • Awakened
  • Tall. Beets.
« Reply #2 on: 16 Aug 2007, 13:21 »

Mike Nesmith's solo albums are actually pretty good as far as country. If you can stand his voice getting even more annoying, there's Nashville Skyline by Bob Dylan - and if you don't mind a little punk mixed into your country, check out some Uncle Tupelo. The ideal starting point is the Anthology.
In the end, the thing people will remember is kindness.

SeanBateman

« Reply #3 on: 16 Aug 2007, 13:29 »

If you are gonna get Gram Parsons, get the Flying Burrito Brothers stuff too. Also the International Submarine Band had some righteous songs.